• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

What is the best budget Trail Truck?

Dare I suggest a FTX Kanyon-way under budget,and with the simple chassis rail fix a truck that just seems to be able go anywhere. More up market a Carisma Coyote.Both these are RTR but the Coyote has the kit to build and fit out yourself option. I am sure that there will be other suggestions,but as a trail truck both these more than capable. The large size of the Kanyon lends itself well to FPV/camera carrier too. Spares cheap and available should you need something.

17 hours ago, UnkownRC said:

Hi,

I am fairly new to the Hobby and wanted to buy a trail truck. I Have a budget of £250 and could stretch to £300. What would you suggest?

You can get an Axial SCX10 II Deadbolt or Honcho for £269 / £289 from Modelsport. I am running a Deadbolt currently as my other half stole my SCX10 II raw builders kit, and the Deadbolt is really good. Axial have a huge following and great parts support.

The Carisma is supposed to be really good though

7 hours ago, TWINSET said:

Kanyon has weak body mount points - Video 1 and Video 2

Have you considered Carisma? https://www.modelsport.co.uk/carisma-scale-adventure-sca-1e-coyote-rtr/rc-car-products/423175

You could have a complete runner (Truck + charger etc) for £290

As I had already mentioned-the well documented chassis rail mod-costs about a fiver to fix. He also said "trail truck" not full blown crawler. True a TRX4 of SCX10 are very good,but they both need far more than £300 thrown at them-tyres,steering servos,batteries etc on top of the initial cost. Second hand-try and find one,no TRX4 for under 450 or a SCX10 for under 300-you might find the latter,but a trail truck is what he said. Just sayin.....

The ftx canyon is utter crap and probably put you off another crawler.beggars belief why it’s talked about in the same circles as the scx10.2, Trx4 and Carisma coyote.