• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

My Trx4 Sport Kit arrived yesterday

Nesiah

have been recommended the following from a supplier

- Hobbywing AXE R2 Combo With 2100Kv FOC Motor
- Savox SW1210SG Waterproof Metal Gear Digital Servo - 32kg - 0.13s
- Absima R3WP 3 Channel 2.4Ghz Receiver (already have a absimi CR 3P radio)

And this lot from Modelsport

-Absima R3WP 2.4GHz Receiver
-Etronix 30.3kg/ 0.09s Standard Digital Servo, Metal Gear, High Voltage, Waterproof
- Hobbywing QuicRun Fusion FOC System (2in1) - 1800kv

Im super new and this is my first build, someone gave me some mip drivers years ago, so I have those. Is there anything else that I need to buy? 
Also what are your thoughts on the recommendations?  my budget is £300-£400

What are your thoughts please.

I've not used any of those specific servos you have listed but I do have a 32kg JX servo fitted on my TRX4 and seem to get by ok, so I suspect either of these ones.

For the ESC/Motor combo I'd possibly be tempted by the newer Quicrun Fusion Pro as I've read that this is a nice little improvement over the 1st generation ones. Looks to be about the same price as the 1st gen parts too:

Hobbywing QUICRUN Fusion Pro 2300kV Sensored Brushless 2in1 HW30120402 (modelsport.co.uk)

I think the recommendations are fine for the most part - i wouldn't take that radio, mainly because you with a TRX4 sport you could always decide that you want the 2speed gearbox or locking diffs, at which point you don't have the channels to do so. 

In regards to ESC/motor, the Fusion is more convenient, but it appears that it can have coil whine - i personally like the Axe R2 better. Quieter, and the option to monitor/program via phone (bluetooth capable out of the box). 

Edited by m4inbrain

30kg extronix servo is a waste of money and will likely burn out, every one i have bought has died on 6v, please avoid.