• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Can anyone recommend any decent smaller scale Monster Trucks?

BigGinge

Hi, I'm relatively new to the hobby (and to the forum) and I've been looking around to see if I can find something fairly specific for my next model purchase.

For now we don't have a huge amount of spare space at home (I blame the kids but my wife may have other ideas) so I was hoping I might be able to find something that I can take out bashing that doesn't take up quite as much space as a 1/10 or bigger truck. I would much rather be buying a proper car than another toy like machine, so that I can get a decent step up in performance, durability and spare part availability (it will likely end up in the keen but dangerous hands of out five year old at some point) but haven't seem much out there other than the 1/10 or bigger models. I currently have some lightly modified Q901 and XLF F16 cars which are a nice size and aren't to bad in use but I have been struggling with the durability of some parts and am getting slightly worried about being able to get replacements for certain items if/when they get broken.

So far I've found the LC Racing EMB series of cars and have had my eye on their MT and Truggy variants as potential purchases. I'm currently leaning towards the truggy with a few of the MT parts bolted on (bumpers and wheels/tyres) but as I'm still very new to the game I would appreciate if anyone here could point me towards anything else that would be worth considering. 

If at all possible it would be nice to be able to buy in kit form (I like building things) but I would be happy to consider a RTR model if that will get me a better set up, even if it needs a few upgrades to get there.

Modelsport's site allows you to search by scale, here's a few more around the size you're looking at (Filters; electric, off-road)

1:14 https://www.modelsport.co.uk/electric/models/off-road/114?