• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

My Lunchbox Build

n_d_fox

Sorry to the mods if this is in the wrong place... i'm a newbie and feel like i'm spamming the forum at the minute !

I was into RC as a kid, started with a Tamiya Falcon and then had a Mardave Mini Stock. I then got into other things and before i new it was grown up... the kid in me always loved RCs though and recently i got the itch again. One kit i always wanted was the lunchbox so here we are :D

I've just secured myself a lunchbox on eBay for what i think is a bargain price. It was sold as a rolling "spares or repairs" item so needs some lovin but after looking at buying new vs. buying used i decided i'd quite like the challenge of a resto / project build.

So this is what it looks like right now, sellers pics ;)

8043695732_752fd3d38a.jpg

Lunchy 1 by n_d_fox, on Flickr

8043695884_1b83dff963.jpg

Lunchy 2 by n_d_fox, on Flickr

8043695992_54f9d64ee4.jpg

Lunchy 3 by n_d_fox, on Flickr

8043686973_d007ca5a93.jpg

Lunch 4 by n_d_fox, on Flickr

As you can see (hopefully) i bagged a gold edition re release. Its bashed and scared but i wanted a fixer upper ;) It looks as though the shocks are replacement units from the mounts maybe ? but i plan to upgrade them anyway with something like Ansmann units. I'm going to use whats on there at the moment as a 5th and maybe 6th shock mod - using the parts to make something half decent.

I also plan to replace the motor with something a bit more juicy. Is the Tamiya ECS ok with uprated motors ? I've seen the sport tuned ones which are 23T but wondered if something else would be better ?

Other than that it will see a full strip down, proper clean, re grease, bearings and all new screws and bits (ordered up new screw bags, tool bag and bearings this afternoon ;)) I might fix the diff so it drives both rear wheels for better traction / wheelie behaviour. What do you think, is this worth while?