• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Complete Noob!

djd001

Hi folks, Just a brief introduction to myself.

I always loved RC cars ever since I was at school, my friend had an electric RC car (not sure what it was) and we'd take it for spins across the school for ages, but alas my own financial constraints stopped me from owning my own.

Until now (OK 17 years later) I've owned the usual gadget shop mini things, the £10 market jobs, but never did they fulfil my desire.

I've decided to take the plunge this today and get a Nitro car (going deep end), not sure if this was a wise idea as my knowledge of RC is nil (excluding where to put batteries).

I purchased a HoBao Hyper 7 TQ 21, the model shop owner ensured (ensnared?) me that it was a good entry level car with the potential to grade when (if) I get better.

:helpsmilie:

So this leads onto my point in joining............What do I do??????!!!!!!!!!

Ok So I've heard about running an engine in, the guy told me roughly what to do:

Stand on a brick

6 tanks of petrol slowly turning the carb. screw about an 8th after every tank

About 1/4 to 1/2 throttle during all of this for about 2 second bursts

But I haven't done this as of yet.

Is this acceptable?

What would be the recommended spares to keep immediately?

Spare glow plugs?

And more importantly gow do you set up for an optimal performance and what do you look for in getting it???

Many thanks in advance for any advice

Good choice of car, it's very popular for beginners!(sp?)

That break-in method sounds about right. Although if the car instuctions tell you different then follow them. It's always good to have a couple of spare plugs for break-in, OS #8 plugs will do you fine.