• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

New Hyper VS 30 Turbo engine issues

Joshua223

Hello all,

I’m fairly new to nitro but have owned one before and it’s been a blast!

I recently received a Hyper VS with the new 30 turbo engine and it’s given me nothing but headache.

Breaking in was difficult, it was running very very rich but getting very hot quick! As soon as the temps began rising (above 200F) I shut it down, let it cool bdc and began again. Smoke billowing out the exhaust and drinking fuel like it was going out of fashion.

Finally managed to get 5 tanks through it and varying the throttle as the tanks got on but had to lean it up a little to even get it to move. 
Tank 10 today and I got it moving decently, temps around 200F but the exhaust was boiling hot!

Just having a little fun when it stopped. Conrod hasn’t snapped or bent but the bushing has completely come out and mangled the conrod! 

The silicone exhaust gaskets have both completely melted as well!

Backstory,

When cold, the engine would be so rich that it would barely move, eventually it seemed to clear and the smoke that was billowing out reduced quite a lot. It was like it leaned itself out while running but smoke was always visible from the exhaust and temps taken at the glow plug were again around 200F. 

Both the LSN and HSN are rich (pinch test the idle rises significantly before cutting out 5 seconds or so later) and the HSN was still rich enough to prevent reaching a good speed. I’ve babied this engine! 

So, new conrod time! Don’t suppose anyone has any advice do they? Why it might be leaning itself out? Or what else could have caused the exhaust gasket to melt and the conrod to shred itself? (I carried the car back to the garage by the engine after it stopped just to prove it wasn’t too hot).

Thanks in advance all!

D46D7C11-D237-4A3B-9B7B-26FE720E8DBF.jpeg

• Sad 1