• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Do i want a Mini crawler?? Yes...

jack-t87

So I'm new to the RC world having got a hyper 7 brushless conversion  a few months back, and that's great fun. But I'm liking the idea of something small for inside or smaller areas outside. Initially a mini buggy or st was on my mind but I'm tempted by a crawler or trail crawler for something different and to use on the beach this summer when I'm sat around. I like 2nd hand for the value but open to suggestions of new sub £70 1/24 or 1/18 models. What do you think?? I've come across the ftx our back mini and that's about it so far. 

I used to have a maverick scout was great for the garden and taking on holiday etc (see my thread scouting in Yorkshire) with cheap/free mods it can be fairly capable. I got my youngest a basher rocksta for using in the house he makes stuff to climb over. Has four wheel steer as well.

• Like 1

To be honest, there doesn't seem to be a huge need for them or that big of a market.

Well, not for something that looks and goes like a hobby grade RC should.

If I was you, I'd seriously consider spending a little bit more, if you can, and get something 1/10th scale or perhaps 1/12th, like the 'normal' sized Outback for example, I believe they are a bit smaller than the mainstream stuff (SCX10, Ascender etc...)

Just my 2p really, because you will end up with a much more capable vehicle and more chance of snagging a second hand model as there's a lot more around.

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Oh How Original said:

To be honest, there doesn't seem to be a huge need for them or that big of a market.

Well, not for something that looks and goes like a hobby grade RC should.