• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Total Greenarse

FartyMarty

Hi all, just joine msuk, reading through the forums it seems a real friendly atmo :good:

As the title says I am totally new to r/c, never even held a transmitter!! been to a few local off-road meetings and now can't wait to have a go.

I am hoping to get my grandson into it but is 8years a bit young? thats him not me!

Anyway got to go I'm cream crackered and the wifes banging on the ceiling!!???

Cheers

welcome mate :good:

8years old aint too young, but depending on what you buy for him make sure he understands what a good RC is capable of, like the speed for a start, and learn him about throttle control and braking ;) its not like an on/off switch :P all should be fine as long as you take it step by step and learn yourself a couple of things on the way B) the guys at the place you go to should be glad to help if theyre a happy bunch too ;) any problems come to us :D

Welcome mate

Start off with sumet slow so he can gain controls and basic's

So Dont know if u can limit a Electric or sumet? u can nitro by over richening it

I wish i started when i was 8 years old :D

But hey im a still a big kid right? :lol:

Ziggy

Welcome to the forum :)

I would probably say a nitro for you, as if you have been to meetings and like it, you can stay all day with enough fuel ;)

For your grandson, I would probably say an electric, as they're a lot easier to use, and will probably be cheaper.

:good:

Start ya grand son off with a leccy,.maybe a Kit tamiya? let him help build it to get to grips with the car,

For you get a nitro maybe rush,mt2 , some thing for starters

have fun, and enjoy this addictive hobby which also puts huge dens in ya wallet, so go open up another bank account :P

See ya around

DAnny g