• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

3D drawing thread..sketchup etc..

scrumpy jack

I know there's a few people into 3D modelling on here, so I thought I would start a bit of a thread to share pictures, tricks & tips etc...I have been messing with google sketch-up for about 6 months now and am now using it in tandem with the rendering program Kerkethea, I think I'm starting to get the hang of it and some nice looking results. These programs are pretty amazing considering there completely free and I'm running them on an 8 year old low spec computer, anyway here are some of my better efforts that I have been doing for my savage/ hotrod project

hot-rod-accessories-best.jpg

hot-rod-accessories-best2.jpg

Edited by scrumpy jack

lets see some pics please! danny boy- thanks for the nice comments about my efforts- I didn't watch any tutorial videos, just experimented and read lots about it- once you know how the tools work and get your head around drawing in a 3D space its fairly simple...ish! As nitro says It is hugely enjoyable - I love bringing the imaginings in my head to life..

Edited by scrumpy jack

Solidworks is my tool of choice, love messing around in it. I'm more into the simulation/ calculation side of it tbh.

screenshot29.png

Designing another cage for a Uni project atm as well. Will post some pictures up when I get a bit further in.

http://www.blender.org/ Blender is a superb program, although it does have quite a steep learning curve. I've been using Maya for years now in my artworks and Blender is every bit as good and in some areas better.

http://www.blender.org/features-gallery/gallery/art-gallery/ - Blender art gallery.

Edited by Jonny555