• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Maverick Quantum Flux

mmrr

Hi

Just thought it only right that I add more to this forum, than just reading and taking advice.

Please forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong place or any other such rookie errors🤔

I'm new to the hobby, bought my Quantum flux XT in November and than got my 10 yr old son an MT for Christmas.

We are enjoying it a lot but it has cost more than initially expected as it seemed that every time we took them out something broke.

I have made some changes to the the stock vehicle, some of which are mentioned in this forum, some are not, so I thought I'd go through them and explain some of what I have found out.

I hope it doesn't come across as a noob trying to preach to the choir🤣

Firstly I would suggest that a 2s setup seems to be the sweet spot for this car. I did replace my 2s with a 3s when I got my son's car and seemed to lose some control. Parts seemed to break more on my car as opposed to my son's.

I now make a lot of use of the throttle trim on the controller, when bashing I dial it down and if driving on flat ground and want more speed, I dial it up. This has led to less breakages and bent axles.

I have put loctite on the drive shaft grub screw and the servo horn screw.

I have replaced the small washers on the axles behind the hex hub with 2 of 12mm M5  washers on each wheel, I have also filed down the lip on the back of the wheel hex hub, this has also helped with bent axles. My son still has the original parts (non hd) but has not bent any axles since I have done this.

I have replaced my axles and drive shafts with the hd parts.

IMG_20210405_163630__01.thumb.jpg.5caff8e1ef9bd057df4342109fe74056.jpg

I have replaced my turnbuckles with stronger parts I bought from Amazon as the original were like many parts on this car, made of biscuit😜😂 (especially the suspension arms)