• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

£250 to spend.... what to get?

Rodabone

The title is self explanatory really.

I have around £250 to spend on a second hand truck and would like your opinion on what i should get.

Please bear in mind that i have never used a nitro before and have only ever had electric tamiyas.

I have currently got a Tamiya Wild Dagger, 2 classic Grass Hoppers and Kyoshso Pure ten Alpha.

I was looking at geting a Savage, but wasnt sure if that was what i should be looking at.

A savage is a good place to start as most LHS will stock parts, plus they are easy to buy online. Make sure you know about it's life, the engine, what fuel has been used and how much. It's a bit like a s/hand car. For £250 you could also buy new if you get it online, or some very LHS are well prices as well.

Things to think about and this will help narrow your selection are these sort of questions:

Do you want 2 or 4 wheel drive?

Do you want to race?

Do you want to bash (have fun)?

Do you want to get spares easily?

Do you want a pullstart, electric or box start engine?

Do you want a Truggy, Buggy or Monster Truck?

Thanx GGG,

I would love to get a truck and it would be purely for bashing, not really into racing.

I would obviously like to be able to get spares quite easily on ebay, as my LHS doesnt stock HPI

Not really sure about it beng a pull start or electric, what are the pros and cons of both?

I would also like to be able to reverse the truck, but i understand that not all savages come with the reverse module as standard.

I would appreciate any further input you may have.

No Savage comes with reverse as standard. There is an option kit to add reverse though.

These come with reverse as standard (I will not doubt be corrected):

Traxxas TMaxx & Revo. Losi LST, Team Associated MGT (also known as Thunder Tiger MTA)