• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

scratch built budget straight liner

Puggie

Noob here looking for some advice on scratch building essentially a drag car. This is part of a uni project so I have some distinct criteria to work with and some rules and regs which must be obeyed.

The plan is with a £100 budget, to build a RC car to drag race a 120m long 2m wide asphalt track (may be uneven and contain bumps and cracks).

The vehicle can be any configuration, no more than 10kg, minimum turning radius of 2m, minimum ground clearance of 25mm.

Controlled remote shutdown system than kills power and operates a mechanical brake quickly slowing the vehicle to a halt, this must also operate when communication is lost. All propulsive and steering forces must be through the road (no rockets). The braking system must manually lock the drive.

So my current thoughts are basically it is a budget RC tarmac car, so I'm immediately thinking Mardave V12 (partly as I have one here), but a bit bigger. To get my 25mm ground clearance I'm thinking 1/8th foam tyres they should be about 105mm tall so relatively easily getting me my ground clearance. Chassis will probably be a 3mm alu plate, looking at about 400mm long and say 250mm wide. The rear end I'm tempted to try and make a motor-solid axle pod, similar to the V12 and attach it to the chassis by a 4 bar linkage for suspension and watts linkage for lateral stability (basically as that is close to what a grown up drag car would run at the back and should give me some adjust-ability in the suspension for launching). Front end I'm tempted to copy the mardave as its very simple but it may make more sense to cut a double wishbone setup from delrin (I have a 100w CO2 laser cutter in my build arsenal).