• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

SMT10 Grave Digger advice on required updates

Magico 69

Hi!

I am new to RC and just bought a SMT10 Grave Digger for my son! Looking for your advice on first mods to improve durability- preferably with links to parts that fit this frame. I’ve heard these need front sway bar and better servo server also reinforced suspension bars? What parts do you recommend? Is there anything else that needs attention straight out of the box? 

Kind Regards, 

Magico 

55 minutes ago, Magico 69 said:

Hi!

I am new to RC and just bought a SMT10 Grave Digger for my son! Looking for your advice on first mods to improve durability- preferably with links to parts that fit this frame. I’ve heard these need front sway bar and better servo server also reinforced suspension bars? What parts do you recommend? Is there anything else that needs attention straight out of the box? 

Kind Regards, 

Magico 

I’ve got one and don’t read too much into all this upgrades out the box rubbish. Use it break it fix it and only upgrade what you break regular or your just opening the doors to a money pit 

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Magico 69 said:

@mydoddy69how do you rate your SMT10 out of the box? Does it prove durable over time and provide fun as a basher? I am just an amateur and don’t expect race grade performance! 

It’s not a basher nowhere near that if you want a basher look elsewhere 

These are fun rigs but don’t expect it to do big jumps and what not it’s more a scale thing imo 

I would get the front sway bar right away, but other than that on the brushed setup it should be ok for a while. I'd see what breaks first as mydoddy said and go from there. Although there are common weak parts, they might all break in a different order or you might get luck and never break some things at all. Just make sure its all screwed together properly as RTR cars are not build very well sometimes.