• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Smartech Buggy Nitro Carburettor

Fideres

Hello, was wondering if anyone can help as I'm new to Nitro, I need a new carb can I fit any .15 engine carbs for my Smartech buggy? or does it need to be a Smartech one.

Thanks.

the answer, I am afraid...is possibly....

You haven;t supplied any information to help us really. It's like saying I need a new carb for my car. It's a Ford. Pictures help, if you can get one posted.

So, the first thing you need to do is find out who made the engine fitted to your car. It's wont be Smartech. They just rebrand stuff. HPI used to badge their engines with the HPI logo...but most were made by Force.

Now, the information may not be there to be found with google, or there maybe no clues on the motor itself, but as you have the physical motor there, a visual identification should be possible.

Failing that..,.. you need top measure the aperture the carb is going to fit into, then look for a carb from the right sized motor that will fit.

Most common for 'cheap brand' rebranded small block niotor motors is Team infinity. They supplied motors for a lot of re-brands. Partsd seem pretty thin on the ground though, so you may struggle.
If it is an Infinity motor.....well...they were pigs to tune when new, and not very good engiens.

If a carb is going to cost you £20-£25 to source....a whole new engine can be had for around £50. That gets you a Force .15 unit, which will be better all round

Hi, thanks for replaying Nitroholic, ok that's fine this info has helped me lots thanks very much. I am in the process of sourcing a new carb at the moment and getting help with this.

The engine has an SMT logo on the crank case would be interesting to know what engine this is.

P1000591.JPG.bc52ce9b026481b1696a4ad3c1c87798.JPGP1000592.JPG.03aef5f61cce16734bcdcae7fbeeb766.JPGP1000593.JPG.d673a576807491cf2b99f1eb7f3bd38e.JPG