• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

ESC BEC Help?

mark381

Hi, I am in the process of sorting out the electrics for my new Losi 8, I have a Mamba Monster esc with 2200kV motor, Futaba 3PM-MX 2.4GHz radio with R603FS receiver, Savox 1256 steering servo (Digital Coreless Motor). I wired up the electrics today to try them out and ran them using a 3s 2500mah 20C lipo (none of the components were under load and the esc was set to auto detect). I will be using a 4s 4500mah 30C battery in the car when it arrives.

I bound the Tx and Rx, then calibrated the esc, the motor worked fine (throttle reversed as per instructions), but when I used the steering servo, the movement was slow and jerky, when it went to return, the red light came on on the Rx indicating it had lost its bind and the motor twitched, it then regained it and returned to the normal position, this was tried several times with the same result (using both PPM and HRS modes), an analogue servo was tried in PPM mode and was found to work normally.

The instructions that came with the Radio said the Rx required 6V input, the instructions for the esc says that the output to the Rx is 5v and it does not appear to be changeable through the computer interface.

Has anyone else experienced this problem, my solution at the moment is to run a receiver battery pack (6V), hopefully there will be space somewhere under the car body. Other possible solutions would be a separate BEC, does anyone use these, any recommendations on make and model? the final option would be a servo with lower current drain, most likely analogue what type do people use? Alternatively does anyone else have any other suggestions for a solution?

Regards

Mark