• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Hong nor X1CR nitro > brushless advice please

Evening all. 

I have done plenty of searching on here before starting this topic before any one points me In other directions! However I am a total electric newbie hence my post!

I bought a nitro x1 cr buggy from a member on here years ago, it has subsequently been laid up in my shed for 3 years with a mangled gearbox housing, which I have just got around to repairing. 

I won an x1 CRT roller on eBay last week which I have transferred all the buggies running gear into, so I'm left with a freshly rebuilt buggy roller. I was initially going to put another .21 nitro engine back in but on doing some reading it appears the brushless route seems the way to go, with the majority of clubs around me favouring the less noisy option!

I'm looking at getting into a bit of amateur track blasting so I'm looking for a reliable, newbie proof brushless set up to go into my roller

I'm not bothered about making the buggy do silly speeds, I'd be happy with on par performance that the original .21 picco produced. But something that's going to be reliable, give me decent run times and not overheat instantly. (I've recently bought a Losi mini 8ight/2s lipo and the motor/ESC has given up already, I saw silly temps, don't want the same to happen to this !) 

Money is not a major issue, I'm a firm believer of buy cheap buy twice so don't mind forking out for quality gear to get me going. 

As I mentioned, I am a brushless/lipo virgin and have tried to find some idiot guides but not had much luck. 

I appreciate this probably gets asked a lot but any advice/input will be greatly appreciated. I'm in the Linc's area I don't mind travelling if there are any local clubs/members who would rather give me a quick intro whilst having a truggy bash/pint at the same time!

Thanks. 

Nick. 

Edited by bombercountynick

Hi chap,