• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Super 5SC

Mrfabulous

Just acquired one of these big HPI beasts, after building the ultimate FLM EMaxx I decided I wanted something bigger but whilst I waited to save up for a losi 5 conversion this came along and landed in my lap. As it's a roller I stepped back and thought I need to put in a decent can. I have a spare mamba monster 2 set up but thought the 1515 would only cause heating problems even with the castle cooler. Maybe running the 1515 with an XL ESC I have in my parts bin might help, or just get a 1717 XO-1 and use that with the XL, will the 1717 fit? Do I need new mounts, Alza, kershaw centre diff? Help would be most appreciated, just going to light bash this no hard racing, or arial acrobatics, that's the EMaxx dept lol

Yes I did and it gave me lots of ideas it's a great thread, but I wanted to know a) will a 1717 slot in without any conversion or do I need the Alza centre diff? Thanks

Agggghhhhhhh, that's that out if the window I have an XL ESC what motor do you suggest then with the Alza conversion I'm not bashing this hard, thought the 1717 would be better than the 1515..... Www.confused.com I'd rather listen to you and Tug as the other chatter I've heard come with no real sustenance

The 1717 can cope, but only if pushed to its upper limits. This has two main drawbacks; the can is always running at high temps, ~70C. The runtimes are poor, I've emptied 8000mah in ten minutes!

A 2028 size can or a derivative is a better option, but even the 780kv is still thirstier than preferable. The lowest you can gear the 2028 is 22/52, any lower and the can will foul the rear output cup from the centre Diff.