• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

HPI Trophy Truggy 4.6 Conversion

Hello,

Can someone please help me before I go nuts lol I want to convert my Truggy from Nitro to Elec but I can't find the conversion parts ANYWHERE, I have looked and scoured the net and I don't know if I am finding it and just don't know it's compatible with mine or what.  But I tell ya what I'm tired of trying to get this engine to idle right without cutting out, I'm a disabled Veteran and bedridden most days so when I'm feeling good enough to go out and play I don't want to sit outside and screw with this foofen engine for hours and watch my son charge his car over and over and play lol.  

I don't know what I will need but I'm guessing the 2 side trays to extend it out, a motor mount, battery tray and a motor and ESC I want to go Brushless and Lipo if I do this im gonna do it right.  Also do you use 1 or 2 lipo batteries on this? and if 2 can I put 2 5000 4s Batteries in it or will one be sufficient?  

Anyways Please help, I need links and advice, I know how to build cars i'm not a novice but the new Brushless and Lipo stuff is new to me, so I don't know what type of ESC to get or Motor, I know I want it to hit high speeds and be able to toast the Nitro version.  I would like waterproof, system, I have the servos and radio/transmitter picked out I'm going with a 4ch and servos are top notch so Im good there.  If anyone has anything I could use the help.  Thanks and Hope to hear something soon!! =)

Andy

aka SmAk

It's easy and can be cheap or cost more pending how far you take it.  IMO get a 7075 chassis over and above trying to make it a flux which will run up the bill for next to no gain.

However seeing as u r US based it may be cheaper and easier to visit JennyRC or the likes on ebay and buy sections of what u need from their chop shop ;)