• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Old TA Tc3 upgrade to brushless set up

Lo08nyb

Hi everyone,

I have an old TC3 1/10 electric rc car which I built about 10 years ago and fancy getting back into the hobby, it's currently a brushed motor system looking to upgrade it to a brushless system with lipo batterys but I have no knowledge or experience in this!

I have been browsing the forum and seem a brushless motor and esc A hobbywing B6 combo with an ezrun motor which looks like it could work but need some advice on will this work with my old TC3, what lipos will I need and also any other recommendations on potential set ups.

I have a budget of around 200 quid and will need a couple of lipos and a charger.

Thanks for your help!

More than likely just some fun for the time been, I am looking to join a club and start racing.

I've been looking at this brushless set up - Hobbywing Combo B6 EZRUN-60A-SL Brushless ESC + 9T/3650 4300KV Motor 1/10 but unsure on lipos and which ones I should be looking at....And if the old TC3 would be able to cope with it!

Thanks for your help!

Edited by Lo08nyb

The motor and ESC is a popular "fun" setup but may not suit club racing as it is sensorless and most clubs will expect you to run a sensored system.

LiPo's will be any hard case stick pack. Some clubs may insist on them being on the BRCA list but that is rare.

Your TC3 should be able to handle the power comfortably if it is well maintained.