• Join our community

Sign-up for free and join our friendly community to chat and share all things R/C!

Buying Advice for HPI Savage X 4.6 - parts & upgrades

UTTER_FILTH

Hey Everyone,

I looking to buy a new car just for messing around down the park and some bashing, dont plan to do anything competitive at all. Have been doing some reading and it seems a lot of people are saying the new Savage is a good car to get. I'm a complete newb with the hobby apart from driving my dads Mugen over 15 years ago, so dont really have a clue on what to buy etc so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I wanted order everything in one go in the next few days, rather then order it in dribs and drabs.

What basics will I need to get with the car? I'd rather get decent stuff first, then buy cheap and have to replace later on.

So, what batteries and charger should I get for the car and the controler?

I was thinking of getting this starter kit http://www.modelsport.co.uk/starter-packs/rc-car-categories/9930/993040

I've read that a lot of people say the bulletproof diffs need to be shimmed. What size shims would I need to order? do I need anything else to do this?

I've read I should buy the engine protector, should I?

Would this be a good upgrade for the steering servo? http://www.modelsport.co.uk/spektrum-digital-super-high-torque-metal-geared-servo/rc-car-products/34477

Is there anything else I should consider buying??

I'm really sorry if these kind of posts come up a lot, but I did try and search and couldn't find all the info I needed.

Thank in advance for any help.

Ricky

Assuming you are buying the new Savage X like this one ...

http://www.modelsport.co.uk/hpi-savage-x-4.6-gt-3-rtr-2.4ghz-grey-red-/rc-car-products/39426

You will need to by a few things which HPI really ought to include...

1) 7.2V NiMh battery for the rotostart. You won;t be able to run the motor without it...and of course, you will need a charger to go with that.